A helping hand

I don’t think any of us will openly accept help, we all want to help someone but when it comes to taking help, we usually are a little wary of it. In the past few days I had to rely on my very close family friends for help with admissions in a university and even for going around a city. I felt so grateful for their love and care at the same time I felt a bit of shame sometimes and a bit of guilt because without them I felt completely paralysed in the environment I was in.

But then I realised that I would have done the same for them if they eve needed my help. Isn’t that something, that we always want to assume the magnanimous role of the generous helper but not the role of the one being helped.

While it is written in bible that that it more blessed to give than receive,and yes it feels a lot better to give help than to take it, we often forget that we are dependent on others no matter how independent we ever feel we are.

Human interaction is based on constant giving and taking. Without it there will be no relationships to talk of. So I decided that instead of feeling small and incompetent while taking help I will enjoy the love and concern people have for me and in turn I will spread that love to others…without taking help we cannot give any one a helping hand,because without ever feeling the need for help we would never know what others need..

Life involves taking help as much as helping others and instead of guilt or shame we should develop a sense of gratitude and thankfulness…it will make life sweeter,our burdens lighter and us a lot better.

Leave a Reply

